Aunt Minnie

Aunt Minnie loved me. She told me

Jesus loved me as she

Taught me to play marbles with buckeyes

On her worn rug, below the photos

On the upright piano.

The privy out back was too big, she gave me

A white enamel pail instead under the grape arbor.

When I was hungry, she fried me a cake

Of leftover mashed potato: heaven! And

What she had.

Aunt Minnie loved me. When I was older, I learned

That in the home, where she died, Aunt Minnie kept

My baby face on a table, and every night,

Kissed me

and put me to sleep

inside the drawer,

Her little white baby.

— Frances Huggard Migliaccio (2008)

(Published in Bow Wave, Issue 639, May 8, 2012)

Leave a Reply

